I Have an Announcement

16 Nov

One month ago, to the day, I joined this crazy adventure called the Fit Life Challenge.  I thought I knew what I was getting into but I seriously had no clue.  I thought I would start out slowly, doing two classes a week, gradually kick it up to three classes.  I expected to keep working with my nutritionist.  I expected to lose some weight, but I think in the back of my mind, I was still very comfortable going through with the process of gastric bypass surgery.  Wow, has my world changed…in only 30 days.

I am so unbelievably grateful for this opportunity.  Most days I can’t believe it has only been a month.  I am so unbelievably thankful to Danielle and CK for putting in so much time with the Challenge.  The funny thing about it?  I have never once felt like they are doing this for any reason than the fact that they actually care about changing lives.

On October 16th, 2012.  THIS is what I looked like:

I realize that most of you have seen this picture before.  I really want you to focus on my face.  I was scared shitless and VERY uncomfortable posing for a picture.

Now, here is a picture from 3 weeks later:

A friend said to me, “Look at the confidence in that face!!”  It is SO true.  Danielle asked us one night to tell her, in one word, how this Challenge is having an impact on our lives.  Seriously?  Impossible.  I have not only lost weight and inches, but I am stronger.  Physically and mentally.  I have WAY more confidence than I have had in a very long time.  I have more energy to function on a day-to-day basis.  I am happier.  OMG, I am happier than I have ever been.  I am happier in my marriage than I ever have been, because I am happier with myself.  I am busy, a lot…without being drained.  I feel like I am living a whole new life.  I am more confident being a mother to my children, because I am setting this amazing, healthy example for them.  I feel…alive.

I feel that I am ready to say goodbye to the Bariatric Program, and continue working toward my goals in the way, that I am personally comfortable, and that is best suited for me, my life, and my family.  I think this surgery is an amazing tool and genuinely necessary for some, however I think it is time for me to allow someone else who needs it more than I do at this point in my life, to take my place.

Oh, and?  This morning?  I DID SOME MOTHER EFFING BURPEES!!! (10 to be exact!)  They weren’t pretty by any means, but I wasn’t crawling on the floor.  (Thank you Stacey for pushing me!)  I seriously cried when I got in my car afterward, but this time not for frustration, but being unbelievably happy.  I look forward to so many more HAPPY tears!!

12 Responses to “I Have an Announcement”

  1. kelpra November 16, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!…….Oh and? NO one is ‘pretty’ whilst doing burpees….lol….Keep up the good work!!! Proud of you! xo

    • She Has Lost It November 16, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      OMG I was SO pumped. They were so ugly. Not fluid like most people, but they were my burpees. My birpess without crawing on the floor like I was going to die. Thank you so much for your support, BFF. You are truly the best.

  2. Alicia (@mrshiggison) November 16, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Amazing. AMAZING! Not amazed, because I knew this was you all along, but this is incredible.
    I told them, in my email to encourage them to pick you, that you would blow their minds with what you’re capable of. Point, proven.

    • She Has Lost It November 16, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      Seriously. SERIOUSLY. I can’t not WAIT until December 22nd AND BEYOND now. Before, December 22nd was the end of this…no, it’s the beginning…AND? I will be allowed to drink beer!!lol Thank you SO much!

  3. Claire November 16, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    Angela you rock!

    • She Has Lost It November 16, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      Thank you so much, Claire!! I am so excited and didn’t realize how this challenge would have an impact on more than just my health…CRAZINESS!

  4. SpeakLean November 17, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    Nice job!! Burpees are not easy and you slammed past them! You are doing such an amazing job and finding the fun in the process. Your picture is amazing and you look so much more confident. You are learned something that takes people many many years to learn, you are learning that this is a lifestyle change and that it is doable and that it fit into your busy life. Congrats again!!

    • She Has Lost It November 17, 2012 at 11:33 am #

      Thank you so much!! While it is hard work, I am definitely having some fun! My burpees, they are pretty ugly right now, but I am proud of them!lol If I am not crawling on the floor anymore, it’s a win in my book! Thanks again!

  5. Janet Clifford November 27, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    OMG – Ange — I bow down to anyone who sticks out boot camp– heck everyone who joins a fitness class!! ‘Cause like my daughter that is totally foreign to me.
    You look FABULOUS !! & such change already — I can see how committed you are!
    Is Mike already planning the next honeymoon?
    You go girl!!!

    • She Has Lost It November 27, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

      You? Are lovely. I most certainly know where your daughter gets her charm!! Thank yoh so much for your encouragement!! And IIIII am planning the next honeymoon! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I couldn’t find anything in my head to write today - November 16, 2012

    […] I’m going to this place (beer!) with this girl (amazeballs!) tonight and my head has been there since…oh, […]

  2. Ain’t no joke - November 27, 2012

    […] just to take their lives back. It’s about as inspiring as it gets. Come take a look at this post & tell me you don’t see a new life starting in front of your very eyes? Or this video and […]

Leave a comment