F@*%&# Burpees

16 Oct

It has now been about 15 months since I have published a blog.   As discussed in my About Me, this was a private place for my thoughts and ideas.   I pretty much thought my public blogging days were over (before they really even got started), but there are too many exciting things going on in my life for me not to be sharing!

I decided to make this public again when I was chosen to be part of the Fit Life Challenge.  I nominated myself and asked a few people to nominate me as well.  I was absolutely blown away, to find out that 30+ people sent in nominations.  From what I hear, my friends and family had some pretty nice things to say about me.  I am truly humbled (and am DYING to read those letters).  For the next two months, I will be working with Danielle Chevalier and C.K. of Adrenaline Extreme Fitness and Certified Nutritionist Laila Crosby.  I am also super fortunate to have already been working with Certified Nutritionist Jennifer Oliver, and will continue to do so over the next two months of the Challenge, and afterward.  All the episodes can be watched on WindsoriteDOTca.  The super cool part?  You can join in the fun with me and the rest of the contestants in the Fit City Challenge!

So, tonight was the first day of taping.  We met at Suicide Hill for photos, interviews, nutrition evaluation and a fit test.  I got to meet all of the other contestants and they are fab.  I am really looking forward to getting to know each of them over the next couple months!  After we were finished, we were told we have homework.  We were instructed to talk about our feeeeelings.  To write how we were feeling during and after the Fit Test.  Perfect, a great starting point for the revival of this blog (in its new home).

Sit ups: I did better than I thought I would.  I felt pretty good about it and was given false hope about how the rest of the test would go.  I did 17.  I also have a new appreciation for the people who told me how important kegals were during pregnancy.  I should have listened.

Push Ups: Well, I knew from minute one I was going to suck at these.  I thought I would crank out 1 solid push-up (FYI, no girl push ups allowed).  When I exceeded that I was thrilled.  I think I did 7.

Plank: I rocked a solid 56 seconds. I was proud. 30 lbs ago, 30 seconds made me break a sweat like I just ran the Detroit Free Press Marathon (Oh, did I forget to mention that I am starting this 30 lbs lighter than my highest weight??)

Tire Lifts: I cranked out 27.  Not too shabby.  I do however believe that if I did them before the plank I would have done more, but then my plank score would have blew.  Double edged sword, right?

Burpees: I almost cried when I saw that this was part of the Fit Test.  I hate burpees.  I can’t do burpees to save my life.  Danielle was very kind in counting the most pathetic version of a burpee ever to burp the earth.  I suck.  I think some of it is fear, but most of it is my fitness level and weight.  I will conquer these bitches in the next 2 months.  Just you wait and see.

For the first time in forever, I have been on a serious journey to being healthy.  I have been working with Jen since July and have made so many positive changes in my life.  I have lost weight and feel great.  I think that had I started this Challenge at my heaviest, I would have been absolutely humiliated.  I wasn’t though.  Three months ago I probably would have cried, then eaten something super shitty for me afterward.  Tonight, I was proud.  I am proud that I have committed to not only this Challenge but my health.  I am proud that even though on the way to the meeting I was so scared that felt like puking, I still went.

I picture myself running with my kids, or actually catching my 2-year-old when she is running away.  I picture myself shopping in regular stores.  I picture wearing a bathing suit!  I picture a long healthy, happy life with my family.  For once, I can see a light at the end of tunnel.

11 Responses to “F@*%&# Burpees”

  1. Gil October 17, 2012 at 12:48 am #

    Amazing! You got this girl!!

    • She Has Lost It October 17, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks so much, Gil!! I am PUMPED! (Or will be!) 🙂

  2. kelpra October 17, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Oh and Berzerker? Brilliant…….lol

    • She Has Lost It October 17, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Well, obviously. LOL Thanks for your support, BFF!!

  3. Alicia (@mrshiggison) October 17, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    I could NOT be more proud of you…that YOU are proud of you.
    Amazing work you’re doing, seriously. It’s healing and melting and just altogether lovely.

    • She Has Lost It October 17, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      And you are lovely. Thank you so much my sweet friend…your support means more than you know!

  4. Danielle October 17, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    You are amazing and such an inspiration!! You have made me realize that it is time to get my butt in gear again!! Thank you for sharing this journey with all of us!!

  5. Tina Caron October 17, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    You can do this Angela! So looking forward to watching your progress thru these next few months. Just a beginning for you. I have a feeling this is just the beginning of many more blessed things to come your way.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I Chose Not to Have Weight Loss Surgery - AXFIT.COM - April 4, 2013

    […] this point I was heavily involved in the Fit Life Challenge. A two month, lifestyle change competition that I went on to win. I decided that if the staff at this clinic did not have my best interest in […]

Leave a comment