Looking and Feeling Great in 88 – The Challenge

21 Mar

header1

OK, so spring has sprung and all that other shit, right? I mean, it’s not like you’d know with the -3C temperature outside right now, but it’s March 20th and that means it is officially spring. Bullshit weather aside, it’s time for me to put a little spring in my step and start kicking some serious ass. I have a wedding to stand in this August and I am determined to rock that dress!

To me spring is the start of new things. It is like a ‘rebirth’. Although I have been on a pretty kick ass journey for  some time now, I think there is always room for improvement, or, to simply adjust what I am doing now to make it that much better.

So, here is the plan. This week-end I am going away to a spa for the week-end (For work! Awesome, RIGHT?). I am going to be pampered and relax. I will partake in yoga and meditation classes, eat amazing, healthy foods, exercise, focus on my career (with our amazing organization‘s team), myself, and be happy with parts of my life I excel in, and think about ways to change certain aspects, for the better. I am going ingrain a clear image into my head of where I want to be in three months time, physically, professionally, emotionally and spiritually. These changes will come from within myself. I am going to build on what I have done so far and focus 100% on being completely happy.

Over the last little while I have been approached by several people from different weight loss/fitness companies, and it’s  always a similar thing. Shakes or some sort of supplement that is sure to set me on the right path, while offering me the chance to make some serious cash. (GASP, they are even trying to use one of my boyfriends to lure me in! See: Exhibit A with Mrs. Higgison) The thing is, I am on the right path and I am learning new things every day. I may make mistakes along the way but I am trying to improve myself, inside and out, without buying into anything but determination and hard work, while gathering inspiration and motivation from the amazing people I come into contact with along the way.

Exhibit A: Angela's Boyfriend

Exhibit A: Angela’s Boyfriend and @mrshiggison December 5th, 2012

I am going to spend 88 days on a journey to not only look great, but feel great. I am going to do this without the aid of any gimmicks or products. It is going to be hard work, complete focus and healthy, clean eating. I will partake in at least one cleanse (under the supervision of my nutritionist) and continue juicing. I am going to change-up my routine with the guidance of my trainer, to incorporate more cardiovascular activity, add in yoga and meditation as well as finding active things for my children and I to do together. I can do so much more than I used to be able to and I am going to take full advantage of it!

From Monday March 25 – Thursday June 20th I am going to document my latest, and most personal challenge yet. I will keep (and publish) Food Journals, honest, detailed, accounts of what I am putting into my body (this is something I have never been great at). This series will include food reviews on Meatless Mondays (I could never be a vegetarian but I can give up meat a few times a week), Weigh in Wednesdays (Note: I am still not brave enough to post a starting weight but I will post pound/inch losses or gains), Feeling Fridays (This may or may not include me whining about how haaarrd it is), and me just generally keeping everyone updated with what I am doing and how it’s going. Chances are, I will probably over share tidbits of info that may just give you a laugh or two. Feel free to laugh both AT me and WITH me. Lucky you, if I get any video of me making an ass of myself, I will post that too! NO SHAME, FOLKS! The Fit Life Challenge did AMAZING things for my life, and part of the motivation was sharing it with others. It not only keeps me inspired but accountable!

Would you like to join me in this journey? Let me know and I will update readers with how you are doing on your personal journey. All that I ask is that you join in the fun with the plan for a lifestyle change, without using any ‘aids’. Us motivating each other and sharing ideas will be better than any sort of shake or pill. You do not have to want to lose weight. Maybe you want to increase your fitness level or decrease stress in your life? Maybe you just want to change your routine to focus on yourself a little more. Whatever it is, we can do it together! Strength in numbers, Bitches! Feel free to send me an email at a.yakonich (at) gmail (dot) com, and I will add you to my team!

Are you ready? I certainly am…LET’S DO THIS!!

2 Responses to “Looking and Feeling Great in 88 – The Challenge”

  1. Alicia (@mrshiggison) March 21, 2013 at 2:37 am #

    You know what? I’m in.
    I have been toying with the idea of adding yoga/pilates/meditation into my life on a steady basis. This may be the kickstart I need. I’M IN DUDE!
    88 days. Eesh. Balls to the wall, y’all.

    • She Has Lost It March 21, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

      WAIT!!! WHAT?!?! WHOOT!!! There are a bunch of cool things going on in the way of cleanses etc. in the city AND Axfit is starting outdoor Yoga! (It is Axfit so it will be a little more aggressive like Pilates). I am actually going to learn to meditate too! (There are free classes believe it or not). This is good…SO SO GOOD!! I will email you what I need from you before Monday!

Leave a comment